This is the "Databases" page of the "Home Week: Evidence Based Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Home Week: Evidence Based Medicine  Tags: evidence-based-medicine instructional-support medical-education clinical-resources home-week-curriculum  

Sources, strategies, and websites for practicing evidence base medicine, and supporting clinical-reasoning
Last update: Jan 27th, 2010 URL: http://uchc.libguides.com/HomeWeekEBM  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  
 

Home Week 2009

Welcome, 3rd Year Medical Students

This subject guide is designed to provide you with essential resources to begin using and applying Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters, standardized clinical guidelines, decision support tools, databases or calculators available via subscription from UCHC Library and those which are frely available from a worldwide list of EBM centres.

Kathleen Crea is the instructor for Home Week-Evidence Based Medicine, you can email her at crea@nso.uchc.edu.

UCHC reference librarians would be happy to meet with you at a time convenient to you for what we call a "one-on-one consultation".  Please contact the UCHC Reference Desk at 679-2942 to speak with one of us (Monday-Friday, 830am-430pm). 

 

Databases or Sources for Evidence Based Practice


  • MEDLINE (PubMed)  
    Medline (PubMed) is an index to 4,800 medical journals covering 35 years of literature. There have been recent changes in "advanced search" methods for PubMed (taking place in Dec 2008).
  • PubMed - Clinical Queries  
    Clinical Queries are pre-built, specialized search filters to use in MEDLINE for these specific categories: Therapy, Diagnosis, Review Articles, Prognosis, Causation (etiolology), Economics, Cost, Clinical Prediction Guides, Qualitative.
  • Evidence Based Search Hedges  
      
    National Library of Medicine staff have created specific EBM search filters for applying to your search in MEDLINE (PubMed). Faculty at McMaster University have created an excellent guide to using 'hedges' for filtering clinical searches.
  • The Cochrane Collaboration  
    Go to Cochrane Library for full-text reviews, assessment of trials, systematic reviews of treatment effectiveness, info on diagnostic tests, health technology assessments, economic evaluations or methods studies, written by volunteer physician-reviewers.
  • ACP Journal Club  
    ACP Journal Club is a standard resource for finding clinical decision-making information including reviews of therapeutics by physician-reviewers.
  • Essential Evidence Plus  
    Previously called Inforetriever, now called Essential Evidence Plus. This site provides links to InfoPOEMs database (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters), Cochrane Collaboration Abstracts, national or society clinical guidelines, clinical decision rules and DDx support tools and algorithms.

    Podcasts on 90+ clinical topics are linked here: http://www.essentialevidenceplus.com/subscribe/netcast.cfm?view=archive
  • Essential Evidence (PDA version of Essential Evidence Plus)  
    Essential Evidence - PDA version of Essential Evidence Plus... a new product announced by Wiley-Blackwell on Dec 14 2009. Search over 700 detailed disease synopses arranged by organ system.
  • TRIP: Turning Research Intro Practice  
  • Clinical Trials.gov - Glossary  
  • SCOPUS  
    Elsevier is the producer of SCOPUS offers access to 16,000 peer-reviewed international journals in all academic disciplines. It is updated daily. The contents of MEDLINE has been added to SCOPUS in 20078. Find "who has cited who" using SCOPUS!
 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageKathleen Crea
Contact Info:
Lyman Maynard Stowe Library
University of Connecticut Health Center
860-679-4054

Reference Desk 679-2942
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait